playMaker

Author Topic: PlayMaker Lite/Programmer Edition - VisualStateMachine  (Read 3871 times)

MrPriest

• Playmaker Newbie
PlayMaker Lite/Programmer Edition - VisualStateMachine
« on: November 06, 2014, 04:37:17 AM »
Hello everybody.

I bought Playmaker since it seemed amazing.
Don't get me wrong, it IS amazing.
But I am a coder, and I like to have complete control over my code and its structure.
But I am not that skilled in creating a good FSM, thus I searched for, and found, Playmaker.

Is there a possibility of adding an option to only use the FSM and visual state editor?
That is, I want to write the conditions, actions, events myself, but have Playmaker control the way the FSM and editor view function.

Is that clear enough?
I am not talking source code stuff, just having the entire code in scripts, rather in the editor, while the editor will only show me visually how the states operate.

Hope to get an answer soon!
If not, sadly I will have to abandon the use of Playmaker (this is not a threat, I just can't feel satisfied with writing editor-based applications if I did not write the editor myself).

Thanks!

jeanfabre

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: PlayMaker Lite/Programmer Edition - VisualStateMachine
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2014, 06:38:45 AM »
Hi,

Interesting post :)

Unfortunatly no, Playmaker doesn't create a open scripted version of your fsm like uFrame would do as you create your classes and patterns.

As a coder myself, building a lot a bridges between PlayMaker and other assets on the asset store, I have to say it's not really a problem that the fsm behavior is not open source for 99.99% of the cases, and actually, typically a massive gain!