playMaker

Author Topic: Datamaker XML and WWWObject help  (Read 3934 times)

kdasteve

• Playmaker Newbie
Datamaker XML and WWWObject help
« on: December 22, 2014, 12:49:05 AM »
Hi!  I am working on creating a piece of art the changes with the actual weather in the real world. The idea of the piece is that it will change depending on time of day, current conditions, wind, precipitation and sun/moon rise/set and phase of the moon.

I'm using the Weather Underground API as my weather data source and using the WWWObject action to connect the the WU API and bring down the current weather data. I store the XML in a string variable called WUString, and I can see that I'm getting the XML from Weather Underground and it's definitely stored in WUString string variable.

I'm trying to use datamaker XML to pull data form the specific nodes in the WUString string variable and stash them into variables and that's where I'm getting stuck.   I'm new to xPath and have been playing with simple xPath XQuery Tester but am a noob at this and can't seem to get things to work - am hoping someone can help.

Here's a link to a sample Weather Underground XML output:

http://www.xpathtester.com/xpath/93fbb74aa64863d2a30371e5d1e7b2e9

Here's what I think the query is for getting the <City> (want it to return 'Portland'):

/response/current_observation/display_location/city

And I've attached a screenshot of my latest attempt at configuring XML Select Single Node to stash the value of City into string variable 'Place'.

When I run, I'm getting 'NULL' in the XML Select Single Node Preview, so assuming the query isn't working.

I'm also getting "Unable to find style '' in skin 'LightSkin' Repaint
UnityEngine.GUIStyle:op_Implicit(String)" caution in the console, but I'm not sure that's related to my issue.

Any help is much appreciated!

Steve

« Last Edit: December 22, 2014, 12:54:03 AM by kdasteve »

jeanfabre

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: Datamaker XML and WWWObject help