playMaker

Author Topic: Footsteps manager  (Read 4665 times)

nihilquest

• Playmaker Newbie
Footsteps manager
« on: August 23, 2015, 08:34:17 AM »
Hello, I'm new to Unity and Playmaker. I am a sound designer and musician so my main main focus at this point is trying out Unity sound capabilities. Right now I'm trying to figure out how to do footsteps for a mecanim character. So far I followed a method by mdotstrange described in this post: http://hutonggames.com/playmakerforum/index.php?topic=8562.0

This method works great but doesn't allow to change footsteps when stepping on a different material. Since the whole thing goes through a FSM to play a sound I think it shouldn't be a problem to add some kind of manager, which tracks the tag of a material that is stepped on (dirt, metal, poodle of mud...). After finding out what kind of material it is, the manager should transition to the appropriate state with a playsound action.

Sounds simple enough but right now this is above my head. Anyone? I think it should prove useful for many game designers .

djaydino

• Administrator
    • jinxtergames
Re: Footsteps manager
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2015, 10:21:23 AM »
Hi,
When you find out on what ground your player is (with trigger event for example)
let it set a global int variable (call it GroundMat or something) 1 for dirt, 2 for metal, etc..

then when the footstep is triggered, add an "int switch" to check the int variable
and set a state for each sound (1 for dirt, 2 for metal, etc..)

mdotstrange

• Can't code? Who cares! Make games anyway!
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2015, 10:52:19 AM »
. So far I followed a method by mdotstrange described in this post: http://hutonggames.com/playmakerforum/index.php?topic=8562.0

You can use the send event from the animation to trigger a sound to be played and use the technique djaydino explains to play the correct one-