playMaker

Author Topic: Crossy Road type character movement  (Read 2791 times)

Pyper

• Playmaker Newbie
Crossy Road type character movement
« on: March 18, 2017, 12:24:42 AM »
I am a new user to Unity and Playmaker. I am not a programmer.

I am working on an ISO game, with the main character being controlled like CrossyRoad using arrows on PC or tap to hop forward/swipe to turn on tablet/phone.

I created a 1x2.5x1 cube as a temporary standin for the main character and made it a child of a game object called "cube controller".

I don't know how to deal with touch yet or animating the idle and jump. It just kinda slides for now.

I created a FSM on the game object parent to read they arrow key inputs. To make sure I am hopping forward by 1 cube unit, I just duplicated the player cube four times and moved each 1 unit ahead/left/right/behind (they are still a child of the game object) and turned off mesh renderer.

When an arrow key is pressed, I use 'Move Object' and 'I Tween Rotate To' to move the game object parent to the location of the ahead/left/right/behind cube. All the cubes move together, so it is ready for the next key input.

This is probably not the best way to do it!

One thing I noticed: although the cubes I am moving to are all 1x1x1, when I hit a key and the character moves, it does not move 1 unit like I thought it would.

Also, the movement seems to be overshooting and sliding back a little even though all my tweens are linear.

I've attached a picture.

Am I going about this totally wrong?

jeanfabre

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: Crossy Road type character movement
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2017, 02:19:07 AM »
Hi,

Have you been able to make progress here?

as for moving cubes together, I would simply parent them to en empty GameObject, and you control then this empty gameobject.

Bye,

Jean

Pyper

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2017, 10:43:53 PM »
Jean,
Thank you for responding!