playMaker

Author Topic: [solved] Move cube when player gets near  (Read 8042 times)

slipside

• Playmaker Newbie
[solved] Move cube when player gets near
« on: March 26, 2011, 03:14:37 PM »
Hi.
I just bought playMaker and I'm trying to learn it.
Im new to unity and playMaker
How do I perform a simple task as making a cube move out of the way a bit when my player object gets within a certain distance?
I get the distance from Get Distance, but how can I use that distance to tell the cube to move when player gets near?
Before playMaker I accomplished this with a script but I cant seem to do it using playMaker.
I'm no good at coding so thats why playMaker seems like a great way to get my ideas in motion.
Appreciate any help I can get :)

« Last Edit: April 15, 2011, 04:36:30 PM by alexchouls »

tobbeo

• 1.2 Beta
Re: Move cube when player gets near
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2011, 02:40:34 AM »
Hi,

The distance is stored in a float variable, so make sure where it says "store result" you have created a variable that appears in the drop down menu for you to store it in (and make sure you check Every Frame). Then you use a "Float compare" under the Logic category to send the event onwards to another state when it becomes less than your variable.

By now you you have the ability to do what you want when your object gets too close to your other object. Since you want to move it away, you need to use "Move Towards" but in order to use that you need to figure out how to get the position that's just a bit further away than your current position. That would get you started, by now you should at least be able to move it away when it gets too close to your player, do you need to figure out how to determine what direction you move it away and determine how far. I would probably use a Look At and then move it opposite on the axis that is pointing towards the player. Stuff like this will be a bit easier when iTween is incorporated as actions.