playMaker

Author Topic: Rotating Game Objects with Mouse pick Event  (Read 6238 times)

gangsta geek

• Playmaker Newbie
Rotating Game Objects with Mouse pick Event
« on: June 14, 2012, 03:28:06 PM »
Hello everyone! I am very new to Playmaker and I've watched all the videos so I am ready to get to work ( I am an artist with no prgraming skills:'( ) I am trying to rotate game objects by a mouse over. I am using a Find Game Object action with the same Object Name and Tag.
Here's my simple set up. I can only get one cube to rotate. Any suggestions?

I'll be stalking these fourms now. I look forward to showing everyone my game and hopefully contributing to the community.

Omari

jeanfabre

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: Rotating Game Objects with Mouse pick Event
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2012, 03:31:16 PM »
Hi,

What you need, is making your cube as a prefab. Then all your cubes will rotate as you mouse over them, and you only need to edit the prefab, and all instances in the scene will get updated.

Do you know what a prefab is? you might be new to playmaker but not new to Unity.

Bye,

Jean

gangsta geek

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2012, 04:25:20 PM »
Thanks for the quick response. Yes, I know what a prefab is. I tried that too but it didn't work. Only one cube rotates.
I've also tried parenting it to and Empty Game Object and using Get Child/Get Next Child/Find Child but still only one cube rotates. Seriously thanks for the quick response :D

pustur

« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2012, 04:39:13 PM »
I think that your playmaker script should be attached to a prefab, then you can duplicate it how many times you want and the copies will have the component too.
hope this helps :)

gangsta geek

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #4 on: June 14, 2012, 04:53:51 PM »