playMaker

Author Topic: Using Playmaker's GUI system.  (Read 5267 times)

Red

Using Playmaker's GUI system.
« on: June 20, 2012, 02:18:57 PM »
So, i'm still learning this bit and i think i've managed to cobble together something use-able... but i was wondering... when you're using script to control the GUI it seems able to tell it to align to the top, left, right, bottom, etc... but i can't seem to find any way to control that using PM's native action set.

is there something i'm overlooking?

artician

• 1.2 Beta
Re: Using Playmaker's GUI system.
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2012, 06:56:15 PM »
You'd have to share a bit more specific info I think.  Are you just using GUI text/textures?  You creating windows?  Using GUI Layout?

Red

« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2012, 11:36:21 PM »
well, the two main things i'm hoping to achieve would be menus aligned to the left and right side of the screen, the main UI at the bottom and possibly a floating GUI element that would surround a target on the screen.

think a bit like how Diablo/Torchlight does it for the GUI.

so, skill tree on the right, character sheet on the left, health/mana and spell/weapon indicator at the bottom. and the floating GUI thing for say you've got a particular monster/enemy targeted, i want to make the health bar that it has aligned to it. i've thought of using something like a separate object or plane that's always aligned to the screen, but that seems a bit trickier to set up and control than having a floating GUI/reticle thing.

but mainly it's the allignment that i'm most interested in.

jeanfabre

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2012, 04:22:25 AM »
hi,

The trick for you will be the following:

playmaker actions for defining areas and layout can accept normalized rect, which means 1 is equal to the screen.width for example.

so a rect of [0.5,0.5,1,1] will be the bottom right corner of the screen starting from the center of the screen to the bottom right.