playMaker

Author Topic: Triggering a PM transition from a script?  (Read 4806 times)

markfrancombe

Triggering a PM transition from a script?
« on: July 04, 2012, 06:58:38 AM »
Total newb here, so please be nice..

I am using a dialogue generation script for my game. I am triggering the script by playMaker enabling it as I collide with the chracter I want to speak. At the same time, Im using PM to disable the mouselook and controller components of my character, so I can click gui elements without the camera view swimming about while in the dialogue.

This works fine, but how can I turn the mouselook and controller components BACK ON, afte the dialogue has finished... This script (http://kimmonsdesign.com/node/21) has a script function so it can run a script at certain places in the dialogue and this would be great if I could send a variable to PlayMaker and PlayMaker would watch for this variable (or variables) and transition to states (including the enddialogue state, that turns this stuff back on) but could also .. oh I don't know run animations, or whatever).

How do I achieve this?

Im looking for a nece simple generic bit of code that I can put into this dialogue generator, that doesn't change (apart from the name of the variable perhaps)

Then I can continue to handle all my scripting in PlayMaker.

I was assuming something like

GameObject.Find("Mia").GetComponent(Play Maker FSM). something something something;).

where Mia is the character where PlayMaker and the dialogue script are attached... Am I on the right track and whats the something something something bit?

:)

Mark

jeanfabre

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: Triggering a PM transition from a script?
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2012, 04:26:03 AM »
Hi,

yes you are on the right track.

create an event "HELLO" in your fsm and you will be able to call that like this:

myFsm is your reference to the fsm component:

Code: [Select]
myFsm.Event("HELLO");

Bye,

Jean

markfrancombe