playMaker

Author Topic: Character motor jump  (Read 14743 times)

teho

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Character motor jump
« Reply #15 on: January 22, 2013, 01:34:56 PM »
hello!
i'm trying to make a jump for my character, but can't find the component Character Motor... there is the Character Controller is applied, but not a Motor.
thanks!

jeanfabre

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12351
  • Official Playmaker Support
    • View Profile
Re: Character motor jump
« Reply #16 on: January 24, 2013, 06:56:25 AM »
Hi,

 I think the CharacterMotor is in the standard assets of Unity, so go in the assets menu and select "Import package" and then "Character Controller"

bye,

 Jean

Graham

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 283
  • I Love Playmaker!
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Re: Character motor jump
« Reply #17 on: February 17, 2013, 09:12:23 AM »
Do you have any idea why the jump power isn't affected by how long the jump button is held?

The property "extraHeight" is supposed to control this, but it doesn't seem to affect anything.

Mayhem

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
    • View Profile
Re: Character motor jump
« Reply #18 on: March 16, 2013, 01:12:02 PM »
Does this only work with Capsule-Objects? I ran into some issues with Spheres and Boxes.

jeanfabre

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12351
  • Official Playmaker Support
    • View Profile
Re: Character motor jump
« Reply #19 on: March 17, 2013, 11:43:54 PM »
Hi,

Actually, I think it only works with a character controller as it is a special type of capsule. For conventional colliders, use raw forces to have it jump.

see the platform jumper example for a custom jump system:

https://hutonggames.fogbugz.com/default.asp?W880

bye,

Jean

app_advisory

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
    • App Advisory
Re: Character motor jump
« Reply #20 on: June 09, 2014, 11:04:30 AM »
Hi all,

I have an issue with this FSM : sometimes I don't have any response when I push "the button down"...

Do you have any advice to help me?

Thank you very much.