playMaker

Author Topic: Variable Help  (Read 2394 times)

KurdLegend

• Playmaker Newbie
Variable Help
« on: July 25, 2012, 07:06:31 PM »
Hi there guys,

Im creating a 1st person rpg and it involves mining ores and thats where im kinda stuck

You can see in the attached picture how my Ore Vein trigger is set up, after a 1/3 chance of mining a ore which pops out, so my question is how can i add some EXP to the player after he has successfully mined a vein ? im still kind of new to unity and playmaker so im not sure how to use variables and such, plus i also would like the mining exp to be displayed on the HUD if its easy to do

And also is it possible to create an inventory system with Playmaker? i did some searching and couldnt find any

Any kind of help will be deeply appreciated

Thanks for your time :)

Lane

• Administrator
  • Mender of the past
    • Cleverous
Re: Variable Help
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2012, 07:38:24 PM »
The XP would just be a variable (int/float) that you would have a few different ways of gathering.

Basically, the way I would do it is.

• Create an empty gameObject and name it go_manager_xp  //the empty game object will basically just be a place in your hierarchy there you manage the collection of XP, a defined place to contain the FSM events and get orders to increase the xp numerical variable.
  • Make a global variable called playerXP //this will be the amount of experience points the player currently has.
  • In your mining FSM in the event that you successfully mine a vein you can either use send event to object fsm and direct the manager to run an event and add float/int Nth to the XP variable you defined or you can broadcast the event while the xp manager is idle and listening for an event to run.