playMaker

Author Topic: Turn based setup  (Read 5510 times)

Carwash

• Playmaker Newbie
Turn based setup
« on: December 27, 2012, 04:08:34 PM »
Hi there,

I'm new to playMaker and Unity, bought playMaker to (hopefully) help me make my ideas easier in Unity - as I'm sure many have.

A little bit about my game before the question.

It's a top down puzzle game, the player has to get their character from point A to B, by setting up the path and getting past obstacles and enemies (move/ jump/ climb/ shoot something to make it explode/ etc). They setup the path, then press 'Go' and their actions will then take place in the order they setup them up in.

The play area is in a town/ city, the puzzles become bigger and more difficult which changes the location slightly, and there is a grid to show the player how movement works.

I'm going to be using iTween, there's an example with the movement almost exactly what I want (here 4th one down - Grid base movement).

So I just need to know, if/ how:
- to achieve the same in playMaker
-- or how to integrate the script with playMaker (if this is the better way..)
- to get the moves setup/ saved so pressing 'Go' will then action them , can this be done in playMaker?

kiriri

Re: Turn based setup
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2012, 05:04:03 AM »
I haven't bought this thing so I don 't know how they did it, but to me it's primarily a logic thing, and not a feature of iTween.
Each vector3 variable contains 3 floats: x,y,z. Normally we'd move from point A to B by doing:
vector3 operator B-A=C
itween move by C

But in this case we'd want to move first on one axis, then on another. So we create 2 more vector3 variables called V3_X and V3_Z. Then we create 2 floats called X and Z. Then we do:
vector3 operator B-A=C
get vector3 XYZ from C and save X and Z coordinates.
set vector3 XYZ for V3_X  :  X=X, Y=0, Z=0
set vector3 XYZ for V3_Z  :  X=0, Y=0, Z=Z
itween move by V3_X : Finished Event FINISHED