playMaker

Author Topic: Custom events with array data store?  (Read 4087 times)

Grofit

• Junior Playmaker
Custom events with array data store?
« on: January 14, 2013, 05:16:09 PM »
Hi all,

I am new to playmaker, brilliant bit of kit though!

I am working on a simple bit of AI at the moment where things should react to an explosion or some other event. As part of this I want *something* to happen then everything within a radius be alerted to this.

As part of this I thought I would write a custom event which would FindAllGameObjectsWithinRadius, however I cannot find any information on how the best way to store the found objects would be, as ideally I would want to allow them to be stored to make the custom action more re-useable.

However if this is not that doable I am more than happy to make something like SendEventToGameObjectsInRadius where it would just send an event from inside the code, but I was wondering what everyones thoughts on this subject are.

As ideally the game objects nearby which are of a certain type (tagged) would then react to the event, by either freaking out and running for cover or running to put the fire out etc.

Alio

• Playmaker Newbie
Re: Custom events with array data store?
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2013, 05:31:58 PM »
fastest way i would know of is to make a global event something like "freakout" or whatever you want to call it and then set up a collider/trigger where on trigger stay --> explosion state --> get FSM event "freak out" and then make FSM state for all those seperate game objects to flow into what you want them to do.

this would probably be an effective way of localizing the event to just that radius where those game objects are around the explosion.  Or maybe set up an alternate FSM to compare distance to that gameobject with compare tag so once they get in that radius or close to it their behavior will change.