playMaker

Author Topic: How...do I make an object always track the first person controller? SOLVED!  (Read 6636 times)

ArloBarlow

• Playmaker Newbie
So...I have some objects in a scene which I want always to look at my first person controller.

I've tried look at and look to and every variation of these, but the best result I've had is that the objects rotate to look at the original position of my FPC but don't track it as it moves.

Essentially I'm trying to create a static turret that only rotates to point at my FPC wherever it is in the world. It should always track the FPC.

I hope that makes sense. I'm a newbie to this stuff. Usually I find the solution on my own but this one has defeated me.

Thanks
« Last Edit: August 06, 2013, 03:16:47 PM by ArloBarlow »

VectorF22

• Junior Playmaker
Re: How...do I make an object always track the first person controller?
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2013, 09:53:17 AM »
Hi,

You would definitely use the 'Look At' action for this. Make sure that the 'Target Object' is set to the player controller and leave the 'Target Position' as none. Make sure that the 'Every Frame' box is checked too because otherwise it wont update while you move. It might be worth you turning on the 'Draw Debug Line' too so that you can make sure the raycast is following your player.

Hope this helps!

KozTheBoss

• You dont fail unless you give up trying to succeed
    • Pixel Life - portfolio
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2013, 03:53:29 PM »
This does indeed sound like it could be solved by simply checking the "every frame" option.

In case you are not familiar with it, the difference between having "every frame" on and off is simple.

With "every frame" OFF, the action in question will be performed ONCE and no more after that, unless you go back to the state again. This is most likely what is happening to you - when the turret enters the "look at player" state, it will get the players position and rotate to it ONCE and then just stay there doing nothing.