playMaker

Author Topic: mouse hover (SOLVED)(ALMOST)(SOLVED)  (Read 6858 times)

wallaceb68

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 87
mouse hover (SOLVED)(ALMOST)(SOLVED)
« on: September 17, 2013, 08:55:29 AM »
ok will someone please point me in the right direction.
i am wanting that when my mouse hover's over a object to get a gui button to appear. ive been looking for two days on how to do this with no luck. thanks
« Last Edit: September 17, 2013, 02:59:01 PM by wallaceb68 »

Lane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2511
  • Mender of the past
    • Cleverous
Re: mouse hover
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2013, 09:03:58 AM »
Use can use Mouse Pick or Mouse Pick Event.
Products by Cleverous
|| Vault Core : Database
|| Vault Inventory : Multiplayer Inventory
|| Vault Attributes : Character Stats
|| That Hurt! : Dmg Floaties
|| Quinn : 3D

wallaceb68

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: mouse hover
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2013, 09:22:26 AM »
Perfect, thanks so much. i was almost there but keep over looking that one. thanks again.

wallaceb68

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: mouse hover (SOLVED)
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2013, 09:59:00 AM »
ok one more thing-
how do i get the gui to stay on the object and not rotate with the player camera

Lane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2511
  • Mender of the past
    • Cleverous
Re: mouse hover (SOLVED)(ALMOST)
« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2013, 10:02:09 AM »
This thread might help:

http://hutonggames.com/playmakerforum/index.php?topic=4941.0

Also look at GUILayout Begin Area Follow Object
« Last Edit: September 17, 2013, 10:04:46 AM by Lane »
Products by Cleverous
|| Vault Core : Database
|| Vault Inventory : Multiplayer Inventory
|| Vault Attributes : Character Stats
|| That Hurt! : Dmg Floaties
|| Quinn : 3D

wallaceb68

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: mouse hover (SOLVED)(ALMOST)
« Reply #5 on: September 17, 2013, 12:39:42 PM »
Thank you Lane for helping me, and being patient, i got the GUISkin made but cant figure where to put it. the tut's say i need to edit my script to allow it. There is my problem: what script? can you point me to a tut. vid. that will walk me throw this step by step? thanks again for all your help.

Lane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2511
  • Mender of the past
    • Cleverous
Re: mouse hover (SOLVED)(ALMOST)
« Reply #6 on: September 17, 2013, 12:56:17 PM »
Check this scene out, its got the GUI hovering over objects when the mouse touches it, camera movement doesn't bother it.
Products by Cleverous
|| Vault Core : Database
|| Vault Inventory : Multiplayer Inventory
|| Vault Attributes : Character Stats
|| That Hurt! : Dmg Floaties
|| Quinn : 3D

wallaceb68

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: mouse hover (SOLVED)(ALMOST)
« Reply #7 on: September 17, 2013, 01:54:35 PM »
that works great, but how do i skin it the way the other post was saying?

Lane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2511
  • Mender of the past
    • Cleverous
Re: mouse hover (SOLVED)(ALMOST)
« Reply #8 on: September 17, 2013, 01:59:47 PM »
Create a new GUI Skin and use the Set GUI Skin action to define it globally.
Products by Cleverous
|| Vault Core : Database
|| Vault Inventory : Multiplayer Inventory
|| Vault Attributes : Character Stats
|| That Hurt! : Dmg Floaties
|| Quinn : 3D

wallaceb68

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: mouse hover (SOLVED)(ALMOST)
« Reply #9 on: September 17, 2013, 02:08:31 PM »
once again, thanks for being so patient, but that is where i am stuck.
i created the new skin and put "set gui skin" in the state in play maker, but i cant figure out how to get the new skin in there.  how do i define it globally?

Lane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2511
  • Mender of the past
    • Cleverous
Re: mouse hover (SOLVED)(ALMOST)
« Reply #10 on: September 17, 2013, 02:11:45 PM »
When you create it, the Skin is placed in your project hierarchy as an Asset. Just find that state with the Set GUI Skin action, then drag the Skin Asset from the hierarchy into the empty slot in the Set GUI Skin action. It has a checkbox for applying it globally, which is on by default.
Products by Cleverous
|| Vault Core : Database
|| Vault Inventory : Multiplayer Inventory
|| Vault Attributes : Character Stats
|| That Hurt! : Dmg Floaties
|| Quinn : 3D

wallaceb68

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: mouse hover (SOLVED)(ALMOST)
« Reply #11 on: September 17, 2013, 02:38:51 PM »
ok there is my problem. when i go into the set gui skin and click the little circle to look for the guiskin i made it say's NONE even in my scene.
but it is in the project folder. any ideals why this is happening?

Lane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2511
  • Mender of the past
    • Cleverous
Re: mouse hover (SOLVED)(ALMOST)
« Reply #12 on: September 17, 2013, 02:39:52 PM »
Have you tried dragging it from the project hierarchy and into the empty field next to that little circle button?
Products by Cleverous
|| Vault Core : Database
|| Vault Inventory : Multiplayer Inventory
|| Vault Attributes : Character Stats
|| That Hurt! : Dmg Floaties
|| Quinn : 3D

wallaceb68

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: mouse hover (SOLVED)(ALMOST)
« Reply #13 on: September 17, 2013, 02:45:22 PM »
GOT IT! that worked. i had the project and the playmaker in the same tad. when i moved playmaker to where i could see both at the same time i was able to drag it onto set gui skin. THANK YOU so much for your help. being a newbie i was beating my head trying to figure it out. Thanks again for your help.

Lane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2511
  • Mender of the past
    • Cleverous
Re: mouse hover (SOLVED)(ALMOST)
« Reply #14 on: September 17, 2013, 02:47:11 PM »
No problemo.   :)
Products by Cleverous
|| Vault Core : Database
|| Vault Inventory : Multiplayer Inventory
|| Vault Attributes : Character Stats
|| That Hurt! : Dmg Floaties
|| Quinn : 3D