playMaker

Author Topic: Most Efficient way to detect what GO is next to another GO?  (Read 3676 times)

jasperPT

• I am a VFX Animator teaching myself to make games
Most Efficient way to detect what GO is next to another GO?
« on: September 24, 2013, 05:14:52 PM »
Hi,

I am trying to set up a grid system, and have it so that each grid piece knows what other grid piece is on either side, above and below it.

This is so that they can share information and send each other events, or figure out what state they are in to do things like match 3 and so on.

Currently I am doing it by creating a small "link" collider on each side of the tiles, one for up, down, left and right.
If this Link collides with the Link of another tile, then it will get the information from that connected tile and send it to its owner.

It looks something like this
$ = Tile
* = Link

*$*
So my Left Link object can set the value of its parents GO variable "Left Link" as the parent of the Link that it collides with.

This seems to get expensive quickly, as it is creating 4 new objects for each tile, (with a minimum of 3 verts for a tri I assume?) so 12 new verts for all 4 sides, and then another 6 if i want to do Y axis (which i do as well).

I am wondering if this is the best and most logical/efficient way to find out what object is next to another object and get information from it like int values and such.

Also to keep in mind is that I need to move these Tiles around at times, or destroy and create new tiles, so they will not always be next to each other and need to know at any given time what it is next to.

Cheers,
Jasper

mweyna

Re: Most Efficient way to detect what GO is next to another GO?
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2013, 12:35:08 AM »