playMaker

Author Topic: Get Host Info  (Read 1340 times)

Lane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2484
  • Yup.
    • View Profile
    • Cleverous
Get Host Info
« on: January 19, 2015, 05:51:10 PM »
Pull information about the Host FSM when the current FSM is operating as a Sub FSM. This is useful for returning variables from a Sub FSM upward to the Host FSM Object easily.

Also on Ecosystem.
« Last Edit: June 21, 2015, 03:21:36 PM by Lane »

thatnzguy

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
Re: Get Host Info
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2015, 04:46:44 PM »
Seems just what I want, all the fields work and return strings, except Game Object, it seems to return nothing for me.

Lane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2484
  • Yup.
    • View Profile
    • Cleverous
Re: Get Host Info
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2015, 06:39:58 PM »
That's odd. I'll look into it when I get back in the country.

thatnzguy

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
Re: Get Host Info
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2015, 02:17:06 PM »
I did a quick test, and noticed there's this error in the console. See the screenshot. I've included a package file that has a scene and template.
This was made using 1.8.0.f21

Lane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2484
  • Yup.
    • View Profile
    • Cleverous
Re: Get Host Info
« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2015, 05:01:13 PM »
Looks like you're trying to run it on the Host Object? You should be using this on the template to retrieve information about the Host.

thatnzguy

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
Re: Get Host Info
« Reply #5 on: June 18, 2015, 02:08:15 PM »
On the host gameobject all I have is a Run FSM action running the template that contains the GetHostInfo.
You can see the host gameobject fsm is "Host:FSM", and the screenshot is from the template being run "Host:FSM:FSM"

Ignore the console errors, I had another gameobject that was running the template on itself.

I appreciate the time you're putting in to check this out by the way!

thatnzguy

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
Re: Get Host Info
« Reply #6 on: June 21, 2015, 03:01:03 PM »
Attaching a newer package that does not contain the bug

Lane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2484
  • Yup.
    • View Profile
    • Cleverous
Re: Get Host Info
« Reply #7 on: June 21, 2015, 03:21:56 PM »
Found the bug! Fixed in new action attached in OP.