playMaker

Author Topic: Xml Select Nodes by Fsm String  (Read 3388 times)

looi

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Xml Select Nodes by Fsm String
« on: June 17, 2016, 08:25:48 AM »
Hello

I want to parse an XML from a URL and save it in a ArrayList.
I've done the first part, I got the XML with the action WWW Object and I'm saving it in a string.

Then, I want to parse it with the action Xml Select Nodes. I select Source selection: Use Variable. Then, it appears the dropdown list with all my strings, but I can't select any of them.

When I try to select a string from the list, In the Console appears this error:
Code: [Select]
ArgumentException: Object type HutongGames.PlayMaker.FsmString cannot be converted to target type: HutongGames.PlayMaker.FsmEvent
Parameter name: val
System.Reflection.MonoField.SetValue (System.Object obj, System.Object val, BindingFlags invokeAttr, System.Reflection.Binder binder, System.Globalization.CultureInfo culture) (at /Users/builduser/buildslave/mono/build/mcs/class/corlib/System.Reflection/MonoField.cs:133)
System.Reflection.FieldInfo.SetValue (System.Object obj, System.Object value) (at /Users/builduser/buildslave/mono/build/mcs/class/corlib/System.Reflection/FieldInfo.cs:150)
HutongGames.PlayMakerEditor.ActionEditor.DoVariableSelection (System.Object userdata) (at c:/Users/Alex/Documents/Unity/Playmaker/Projects/Playmaker.source.unity/Assets/PlayMaker/Editor/Classes/ActionEditor.cs:2826)
UnityEditor.GenericMenu.CatchMenu (System.Object userData, System.String[] options, Int32 selected) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/artifacts/generated/common/editor/GenericMenuBindings.gen.cs:122)

I've searched for this problem and I couldn't find solution here. In this case the problem is not in the variable itself, because I cannot choose any.
Running Unity 5.3.5f1, PlayMaker 1.8.1.f10 and last DataMaker in Ecosystem

Do you know why this may happen?

Thank you very much!

jeanfabre

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15500
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: Xml Select Nodes by Fsm String
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2016, 03:06:19 AM »
Hi,

 I have this error before, it looks like a problem of PlayMaker version upgrade.

 You need to go through your actions "XmlSelectNodes", One of the variable you used in their got mixed up for its type.

I need to verify this, but it could be an incompatibility that I need to address. So instead of "Source Selection" set to "Use Variable", can you use another option like a xml proxy?

Let me know how it goes, thanks. There may be something I need to fix here. I'll try to repro locally meanwhile


Bye,

 Jean

looi

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Xml Select Nodes by Fsm String
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2016, 03:36:30 AM »
Thank you Jean!

I will try to use another option then

tenpercentred

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Xml Select Nodes by Fsm String
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2016, 08:44:15 PM »
any fix for this? (got the same error)

jeanfabre

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15500
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: Xml Select Nodes by Fsm String
« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2016, 02:26:41 AM »
Hi,

 Fix is coming. Thanks for your patience.

 Bye,

 Jean

tenpercentred

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Xml Select Nodes by Fsm String
« Reply #5 on: September 21, 2016, 04:21:14 PM »
Looking forward to it..

Let me know if you need help testing it

tenpercentred

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Xml Select Nodes by Fsm String
« Reply #6 on: May 03, 2017, 04:13:36 PM »
Any news?

jeanfabre

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15500
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: Xml Select Nodes by Fsm String
« Reply #7 on: May 04, 2017, 01:26:32 AM »
Hi,

 It's already up, but haven't advertized it yet, waiting for some feedback.

 basically, to switch the action to the new system, you'll have a red warning when you want to use an Fsm Variable for a property key. what you do then is set the number of properties to 0, then set it to the number you want, you'll see the interface for these slightly changed and now you can properly reference properties using an FsmVariable.

 Let me know how it goes. Always back up first as always :)

 Bye,

 Jean

tenpercentred

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Xml Select Nodes by Fsm String
« Reply #8 on: May 04, 2017, 09:35:09 AM »
Hi Jean,

There is still a bug:
When i assign a xPath Query (use a variable instead of text input) the variables got mixed up.. (the one i assigned for xPath Query ) appears in the FsmString (variable field).




jeanfabre

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15500
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: Xml Select Nodes by Fsm String
« Reply #9 on: May 11, 2017, 04:04:08 AM »
Hi,

 we're getting there :) Thanks for your help on all of this!

 Please redownload from the ecosystem, this is now fixed too.

 Bye,

 Jean