playMaker

Author Topic: How to create cubes in a grid? [SOLVED]  (Read 4638 times)

pustur

How to create cubes in a grid? [SOLVED]
« on: April 08, 2012, 03:26:28 PM »
hello, i'm new to playmaker and i have a question.
i'm making my first game, minesweeper, and i started with some javascript codes before discovering playmaker. so i have a script that instantiate a grid made of cubes (this will be the map).

this is the javascript code that generate the map.

Code: [Select]
#pragma strict
var width : int = 9;   // width and height of the grid can be changed here
var height : int = 9;
var map = Array(width, height);     // I don't know if i'll use this...
private var i : int;
private var j : int;
var unpressedCell : Transform;    // This is the cube that's not jet been pressed

function Awake () {
for(i=0; i<width; i++){ //Instantiate the cubes in the map
for(j=0; j<height; j++){
Instantiate(unpressedCell, Vector3(i*2, j*2, 0), Quaternion.identity);
}
}
}

now i want to know, is this possible to do with playmaker?
how do i do the cycles?
how to increase the i and j variables and use them for the position of the cubes?
how to do this on the awake function?

excuse my english, and thanks in advice :P
« Last Edit: April 11, 2012, 02:13:44 PM by pustur »

jeanfabre

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: How to create cubes in a grid?
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2012, 04:06:11 AM »
Hi,

Please find a working scene for you to study. I strongly suggest that you go first through all the videos and tutorials provided in by playmaker to get used to the way playmaker is working, then open that scene ( else it will be overwhelming).

basically, Playmaker has all the building blocks ( actions ) for you to work with variables.