playMaker

Author Topic: Get Vector Length[SOLVED]  (Read 3378 times)

nFighter

  • Beta Group
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 174
    • multiplayer adult fighting
Get Vector Length[SOLVED]
« on: March 02, 2017, 06:12:48 PM »
Is it some reason why the action Get Vector Length don't have a checkbox Every Frame?

I've added a standard checkbox + OnUpdate() function to the GetVectorLength.cs and it works fine  :)

But I'm afraid I could forget about it and it will be rewritten with the default function after the Playmaker update. Maybe it's possible to make this small edit a default?
« Last Edit: February 22, 2018, 05:24:29 AM by jeanfabre »
indie developer of multiplayer adult fighting
http://nakedfighter3d.com

djaydino

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7615
    • jinxtergames
Re: Get Vector Length
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2017, 04:21:29 AM »
Hi,
Indeed strange.

What you can do is :

on this part on the code :
Code: [Select]
public class GetVectorLength : FsmStateAction
Change "GetVectorLength" to (for example) "GetVectorLength2"

Then save as.. and save as GetVectorLength2.cs

save it in the PlayMaker Custom Actions/Vector3 folder (if the folders don't exist you can make them :) )

Now it can not be overwritten when you update PM.

djaydino

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7615
    • jinxtergames
Re: Get Vector Length
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2017, 04:22:48 AM »
Also you can find many custom actions on the Ecosystem

nFighter

  • Beta Group
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 174
    • multiplayer adult fighting
Re: Get Vector Length
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2017, 10:23:53 AM »
Thanks! I made a GetVectorLength2 action exactly as you suggest  ;)
indie developer of multiplayer adult fighting
http://nakedfighter3d.com

strange_aeons

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 62
Re: Get Vector Length
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2018, 09:25:25 PM »
i need this action to have have Every Frame also, could someone tell me what i need to do to add that to the Get Vector Length action? i tried adding that "+ OnUpdate()" text that nFighter had on their OP, but i just get errors since i dont really know what im supposed to do with it.

djaydino

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7615
    • jinxtergames
Re: Get Vector Length
« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2018, 06:13:39 AM »
Hi,
Now available on the Ecosystem, search for 'GetVector3Length'

strange_aeons

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 62
Re: Get Vector Length
« Reply #6 on: February 11, 2018, 06:45:35 AM »
thank you djaydino, i am checking for that on the ecosystem and i get no results from the search. maybe it'll show up later on.

djaydino

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7615
    • jinxtergames
Re: Get Vector Length
« Reply #7 on: February 11, 2018, 07:14:26 AM »
Hi.
Oops!
I forgot to add a line that will make the action visible in the search list :)

it should be there now :)

strange_aeons

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 62
Re: Get Vector Length
« Reply #8 on: February 11, 2018, 04:36:28 PM »
there it is, thank you for making that available!

WabbysLand

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Get Vector Length[SOLVED]
« Reply #9 on: January 23, 2020, 11:49:33 AM »
I confirm, in 2020 : "Get Vector Length" is not working. Thanks for this addionnal action :-)

jeanfabre

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15500
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: Get Vector Length[SOLVED]
« Reply #10 on: January 27, 2020, 02:28:38 AM »
Hi,

 GetVectorLength works fine, it just doesn't run every update, that's all. Getting the length of a vector is a very costly operation, that's why originally this action did not feature the everyframe option,

 I'll update that action so that the in next version of PlayMaker, it will have this everyframe option.

Bye,

 Jean