playMaker

Author Topic: xpath roadblock  (Read 2074 times)

Matthew Reilly

• Playmaker Newbie
xpath roadblock
« on: May 13, 2019, 03:06:22 AM »
Hi all,

I'm relatively new to playmaker and brand new to datamaker, and I've run into a wall trying to find the right xpath into a csv file being converted to xml at runtime.

The xml that shows up in my inspector looks like this:

<Root>
  <Record>
    <Field>CSVFILE</Field>
  </Record>
</Root>

I've tried things like:
/Root/Record/Field
/Root/Record/Field/text()

Each time hit play, however, the action is disabled and the output of 'xml select nodes' action is a "not found." I'm able to see the contents of the CSV/XML file in the State editor, but can't seem to do anything with it.

Ideally, I'd like to make 2 different word randomization (get a random word/'phone a friend') buttons that auto-fill 1 text input field. These will be big data-scraped files, which I'm planning to put into a hash table. I'd also like to be able to export the player's own (not random) words from that same input field onto an xml or csv, which I can then feed back (along with multiplayer chat) into the game (and onto a webGL host site). Anyways, I'd like to use csv/xml to do this, but I'm stuck on this annoying xpath obstacle and can't figure out what's wrong. Any recommendations?

Matthew Reilly

• Playmaker Newbie
Re: xpath roadblock
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2019, 12:18:37 PM »
here's a more direct way of stating above question... an online xpath generator tells me PREFIX=NAMESPACE is the proper setup. Basically I have an xml file converting at runtime from a csv. In this csv is a big list of words that I want to randomly select from when someone hits a button. Any easy way to fix the PREFIX=NAMESPACE issue?

djaydino

• Administrator
    • jinxtergames
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2019, 04:43:38 PM »
hi.
you can use 'Xml Select Single Node'

then set '/Root/Record'

and add a property 'Field'

see image below :