playMaker

Author Topic: Learning Playmaker as an experienced programmer  (Read 651 times)

casadmack74

• Playmaker Newbie
Learning Playmaker as an experienced programmer
« on: January 20, 2021, 12:58:00 PM »
Are there any learning resources to learn Playmaker for someone who's totally comfortable programming?

And am I correct in thinking that there's some things that can be done faster/more efficiently in Playmaker compared to writing a script from scratch? One of the things I get concerned about with my projects is after a certain point you start accumulating tons and tons of scripts, I feel like a lot of these scripts could've been done in PM instead.

I'm an experienced programmer and can comfortably write anything in C# in Unity, and as I look YouTube and google I find all the Playmaker tutorials are targeted for complete beginners who don't know coding. I'm neither of these.

Is there any resource (preferably in video form as that what works best for me) that can teach me playmaker without wasting time explaining Unity/programming basics? There's some short intro videos here and there but nothing in depth it seems.

nuFF3

• Beta Group
  • Junior Playmaker
  • Are we even real?
    • One Month Studio
Re: Learning Playmaker as an experienced programmer
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2021, 01:21:08 PM »
Hmm, that's an interesting question "Are there any Playmaker tutorials for programmers?"

I don't know, but I could try to make one, might take a day, but I can try.

What kind of key points would you want coveren in this possibly-real-but-currently-hypothetical tutorial?

As for:
And am I correct in thinking that there's some things that can be done faster/more efficiently in Playmaker compared to writing a script from scratch?
That would depend on the script now wouldn't it.
« Last Edit: January 20, 2021, 01:31:56 PM by nuFF3 »

djaydino

• Administrator
    • jinxtergames
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2021, 05:58:08 AM »
Hi.
maybe some of my videos are useful.