playMaker

Author Topic: Set player position [SOLVED]  (Read 9964 times)

Timo

• Playmaker Newbie
Set player position [SOLVED]
« on: October 18, 2013, 12:35:23 PM »
Hi!

I'm new to playmaker, but I've been getting the foundations rather quickly, and this issue is just stumping me. I have an FSM that gets the player position and loads it into a global variable before loading a new scene. When a player exits that scene another FSM sets the player position based off that same global variable.

The first time you go into a new scene, then come back to the main one it sets your position correctly. The problem is if you go into another scene and come back, it loads your position from the original place you left from the first time.

I'm not sure if it's because the objects with the FSM's for the player to go into a new scene are duplicates of each other. But I would think that since they get the position and rotation and set them in a global variable it wouldn't matter.

Here's the FSM for getting position and rotation before loading a level:

and here's the FSM for the main scene to load your position and rotation from the global variable:

Thank you for your help!
« Last Edit: November 04, 2013, 10:07:53 AM by Timo »

redikann

Re: Set player position
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2013, 01:43:10 PM »
My first guess here from the info you provided, and someone please correct me if I am wrong, but it looks like your loading a prefab each scene. Which probably means that the first time you save the global for that pre fab your actually saving it for that current gameobject of that scene. When your new scene comes along its loading a pre fab but that pre fab is not the same Game object so the the global is getting regurgitated with no new info to write. Maybe you need to set a tag for your prefab and make the call to write your global when you have a game object with the same tag.

Timo

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2013, 09:54:23 AM »