playMaker

Author Topic: LookAt other object in 2d  (Read 10386 times)

Tibo

• Playmaker Newbie
LookAt other object in 2d
« on: April 22, 2014, 03:48:00 PM »
Hello,

I'm quite new to unity and Playmaker, but I have already used visual scripting softs.
My problem currently is that I am trying to have an object look at another object that will be moving in the scene.

I've seen some similar questions in the forum, but there were more for looking at mouse cursors.
I tried adapting those scripts, but I am not such a good coder, and get overwhelmed very quickly.

So I was wondering if someone would have a ready made script that I could use in playmaker for that, or if someone could point me towards another solution.

Thanks for your help.

Cheers.

Breadman

• Derp
Re: LookAt other object in 2d
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2014, 07:06:46 PM »
You might not need a script. Try adding the "look at" action to an FSM attached to the object that does the looking. Set the target of the action to your other object.

Tibo

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2014, 01:16:34 PM »
I tried that, but my object then rotates on x and y axis when I need it to rotate only on the z axis and have the other 2 locked.

That's why I was trying to adapt some of the other solutions I found, but failed miserably :)

Breadman

• Derp
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2014, 03:01:22 PM »
Attach a rigidbody, and use the "constrain" checkboxes in the inspector, to stop it from rotating in the non-desired axes.

Alternatively, use the "set rotation" action and set the axes you want to 0, and check the "every frame" box.

sebaslive

• Frame Tale Studios
« Reply #4 on: April 24, 2014, 05:17:00 PM »
Hey, check out this reply from another page, it might help.

http://hutonggames.com/playmakerforum/index.php?topic=6634.msg32381#msg32381
All my VR games use Steam VR Playmaker Toolkit: http://u3d.as/u20
And Oculus Touch Playmaker Toolkit: http://u3d.as/QT5

Follow me @sebasRez

collidernyc

• Playmaker Newbie