playMaker

Author Topic: How to Make Player Point to Mouse similar to AngryBots?  (Read 3963 times)

blazingriver

• Playmaker Newbie
How to Make Player Point to Mouse similar to AngryBots?
« on: May 09, 2014, 03:49:06 PM »
Hi,
First I would like to say that I'm new to both coding and playmaker so please exuse any silly, obvious mistakes I make and if possible, could you use simple terms (I'm not familiar with lots of the terminology).

I am making a game with a similar controls to angrybots, a top down game. I have created a PlayMaker FSM to move my character up/down and left/right.

QUESTION:
However, the current problem I have is making the character point to the mouse (as in angrybots/super stardust) and shoot projectiles (bullets) in the direction its facing.

BONUS:
Also, in the future I would also like to try it out on an iOS/mobile platform, if anyone could offer any suggestions on how I could create a left joystick to move the player movement (up/down - left/right) and at varying speeds and a right joystick to rotate the players Z axis/direction (as in the question) and make it shoot automatically when the player direction is changed (as in super stardust) - i chose this video since it showed the controls that I want
Any help is really appreciated!
Thanks in Advance :)
« Last Edit: May 11, 2014, 07:09:18 AM by blazingriver »

blazingriver

• Playmaker Newbie
Re: How to Make Player Point to Mouse similar to AngryBots?
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2014, 06:58:19 AM »
Here is a post similar to what I want to achieve: http://hutonggames.com/playmakerforum/index.php?topic=2846.0

I have tried using the smooth look at action. However, I am a bit unsure how to use it. How do I make it make the z-axis points to the mouse position?

This is how i have configured it. What have I done wrong and is the smooth look at the right action to use?

Lane

• Administrator
  • Mender of the past
    • Cleverous
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2014, 12:14:01 PM »
Have you checked this out yet?