playMaker

Author Topic: How to control a 10x10 array of objects?  (Read 4171 times)

mekoid

• Playmaker Newbie
How to control a 10x10 array of objects?
« on: December 13, 2014, 12:16:19 PM »
Hi Guys,
I am new to pM.
I have a flipping floor consisting of 10 x 10 boards.
1) Each of the boards might flip under certain conditions.
2) All of them have an occasion that needs them to flip randomly.
How do I achieve the above 1) and 2) efficiently ???
Any help or hint will be very much appreciated.
Thanks!
« Last Edit: December 23, 2014, 02:03:37 AM by mekoid »

mekoid

• Playmaker Newbie
Re: How to control a 10x10 array of objects?
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2014, 09:36:45 AM »
guess no one has any ideas... :'(

Lane

• Administrator
  • Mender of the past
    • Cleverous
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2014, 09:49:11 AM »
It seems like you just need a prefab for that floor tile with the behavior and conditions designed into it. You can send events from some other FSM, like a puzzle manager sort of thing... Is that what you're looking for?

The question is a bit open ended.
Products by Cleverous
|| Vault Core : Database
|| Vault Inventory : Multiplayer Inventory
|| Vault Attributes : Character Stats
|| That Hurt! : Dmg Floaties
|| Quinn : 3D

jeanfabre

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2014, 02:43:24 AM »
Hi,

a 10*10 array is manageable using ArrayMaker and a hashtable.

your hashtable key will be a string following a strict convention:

"x_y", and so "3_0" means column 4, row 1 ( index starts at 0)

if you want to start at 1, then you need 2 digit per index:

"xx_yy", "04_01" means column 4, row 1 ( index starts at 01)

then you use get substring to get to the colum or row, and convert to an int to have the index as an int, or you compose your key to get to a particular item in the grid by building a string using convert with the format ".00" so that int 1 translates to "01"

Bye,

Jean

mekoid

• Playmaker Newbie