playMaker

Author Topic: Multiple Lap Timer[SOLVED]  (Read 4687 times)

• Playmaker Newbie
Multiple Lap Timer[SOLVED]
« on: January 16, 2015, 01:39:18 AM »
Hi All,
I'm very new to both unity and playmaker but have been having fun and made some decent progress on my first small game, an arcade racer. The problem I am having is that I want to make a 'Time Attack' mode where everyone (the player and the AI) have their lap times recorded, all whilst on the same track...

My first, and pretty much only, idea for this is to have multiple triggers, each with different tags, but then I'm confused as to how I'd get the seperate delta T for everyone?!? I guess my question is, is this do-able or is this more big boy AAA type territory? I'm also thinking of adding in permanent upgrades, which should also be really interesting to try and work out how to do! haha

Cheers!

Edit:Also, having a think, the 'Time in current state' might also work, but again doesnt seem very elegant... still fully open to any better ideas!
« Last Edit: February 19, 2015, 06:42:40 AM by jeanfabre »

jeanfabre

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: Multiple Lap Timer
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2015, 05:07:05 AM »
Hi,

don't hardcode each player, you can get away with something a lot more object oriented and nice.

you will need a trigger as the finish line, tagged "Finish Line", and a trigger/collider on each player.

then each player will have an fsm that will watch for this finish line trigger and filter by tag, so that that fsm only responds to this finish line trigger.

then, yes, you are right, use time ( a different between the time recorded when started/crossing line and the time when crossed the line).

To keep track of each laps, you'll need a way to store this in lists, and for this, you'll need ArrayMaker