playMaker

Author Topic: Found a bug with Enum on iOS  (Read 2477 times)

szomaza

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 253
Found a bug with Enum on iOS
« on: March 07, 2017, 02:15:34 PM »
Hi All!

I am sending enum data in a send event action and then doing an Enum Switch to branch the other FSM.
Works perfectly on Android but does not work anymore after switching Unity to iOS platform.

1. What I see on iOS is that no matter which one of the enum data are selected when the game is run (in editor) the enum data settings all default back to the first enum data value.
2. This defaulting back to the 1st value can also be observed (even when Unity is set to Android) when copying enum actions in an FSM: after copying the enum data gets changed back to the 1st value. Does not keep the vale that has been set in the action that was copied.

Is/was this a known bug? Has it been fixed in newer version?

I am on:
Unity 5.4.1f1
Playmaker: 1.8.3.f4

br,
szomaza

szomaza

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 253
Re: Found a bug with Enum on iOS
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2017, 03:42:24 PM »
I solved my problem for now by not using the enum thing.
Instead I send an integer variable and then doing an int switch to branch the code.

...but this enum thing looked like something the cool kids (real programmers) would use, so I would like to use it in the future.

Please look into this and fix this issue as priorities allow.

Br,
szomaza

jeanfabre

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15500
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: Found a bug with Enum on iOS
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2017, 01:03:06 AM »
Hi,

How did you created the enum? can you share the script snippet to see how it's made? I'll try to replicate.

- there is no chance that a bug could be in the Fsm logic and you think it sends one enum value but actually do send another one?

Bye,

 Jean

szomaza

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 253
Re: Found a bug with Enum on iOS
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2017, 06:07:27 AM »
Made an empty project to test this.
Please see the attached image for my findings:

szomaza

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 253
Re: Found a bug with Enum on iOS
« Reply #4 on: March 10, 2017, 06:22:09 AM »
Oh I found it! This was my problem in the original project.

I one last thing to check I tried to separate the
1. set property and event sending
and the
2. get property and switching with enum.

The result speaks for itself: data defaults to 1st enum data on iOS.
It should go to "State 2" there too. Nothing has been changed, just the platform switched. Please see attached image.

Playmaker is awesome: only takes a few minutes to set this up, but tell me if you would like the test project.
« Last Edit: March 10, 2017, 06:24:59 AM by szomaza »

jeanfabre

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15500
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: Found a bug with Enum on iOS
« Reply #5 on: March 11, 2017, 02:26:11 AM »
Hi,

 yes, for sure, I'd like to test this, seems there is something fishy here.

 Bye,

 Jean