playMaker

Author Topic: iOS GUI form data capture tutorial?  (Read 4868 times)

Duffdaddy

• Junior Playmaker
iOS GUI form data capture tutorial?
« on: April 22, 2011, 07:42:33 AM »
Just wondering if there are any?
I'm a complete novice so am struggling some with Playmaker.
I'm trying to build an iPhone utility app, so lots of iOS forms to fill and store.

By way of example;
1. User fires up utility app on iPhone, launches user settings screen with various form fields,
2. App checks player prefs and populates fields with corresponding data where it exists.
3. Player taps field "first name", iphone keyboard appears, and they select the field content and key new data,
4. On tapping else where on screen or in a new field or even exiting the screen for another, the data in field "first name" is saved to player prefs and variable. etc, etc,

Any pointers greatly appreciated, but I'm just struggling with the variety of ways to solve this, and also what's appropriate in regard to actions that are usable on iOS. I'm guessing any of the mouse actions are useless and I should be making a beeline for device actions and screen-pick?

Lastly, does Playmaker have any ready made action to make the iPhone keyboard appear? Or do I need to write a script for that and and simply switch the script on and off?
I'm an artist not a coder so don't assume I have a clue ;-)
Many thanks!

jeanfabre

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: iOS GUI form data capture tutorial?
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2011, 08:49:24 AM »
Hi,

Correct me if I am wrong, but the keyboard should come up automatically as you click on a gui text field isn't it?

Maybe I dont' understand your question. I have a gui skin I am currently developing ( http://www.fabrejean.net/projects/unity/testWeb/testWeb.html ) and text field correctly reveal and edit th econtent on ipad ( despite the weird text placement... but that's another issue ).