playMaker

Author Topic: Change / New Mesh During Runtime  (Read 1693 times)

drentek

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Change / New Mesh During Runtime
« on: December 11, 2012, 05:58:24 PM »
Hey All,

I am trying to set up a character generator & wondered if there is a function I could use.  I basically want to change a mesh (hair style) depending on what the user wants.

Thanks :)

Craig
« Last Edit: December 11, 2012, 06:00:25 PM by drentek »

kiriri

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 506
    • View Profile
Re: Change / New Mesh During Runtime
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2012, 12:24:01 AM »
a mesh is a type of object too, which can be stored in an object variable.
Here:
http://hutonggames.com/playmakerforum/index.php?topic=2396.0
I describe how to setup such a variable. If you specify the type of an object variable, the get component action will get that type of component. If you don't get it I'll just make an example project, it doesn't take much time.
Best,
Sven

drentek

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Change / New Mesh During Runtime
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2013, 07:33:34 PM »
Hi Kiriri,

I don't quite get it. Not to worry. Thanks

jeanfabre

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14059
  • Official Playmaker Support
    • View Profile
Re: Change / New Mesh During Runtime
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2013, 11:29:45 PM »
Hi,

 Here, I would even not touch the mesh itself, but rather have several gameObjects, one for each hair style ( or anything else), and simply witch. That of course only works for props, for the main character mesh, that could be a bit more tricky.

Bye,

 Jean